Getting on With Life

In 134 days I’ll be on my way to Port au Prince, Haiti! Can you believe how quickly 2014 is starting out? I can’t, but I can because usually I keep a track of time by wanting to know the time of day, month, day of the year, and the year, so I usually do just that. However my thoughts have had a rude, but necessary awakening. You see for nearly two years I’ve been trying to chase myself out of New Mexico cause I thought my time was running out here, but recently time caught up with me smacking me over the head telling me I’m wasting it. I knew I was wasting time, but little did it occur to me that much time was being wasted. You may or may not have heard me talk to you about my plans, but even if you haven’t, this years goals have even set for themselves to get on with life. Here’s the deal, I can hear many times that I have time to do stuff, but to tell you the truth I’ve expressed I don’t want to waste it… Obviously I’ve wasted enough, however I didn’t understand the concept of “going with the flow”. Ignorance is not to blame because I get what time is, and that is just a fragment of our lives because it just wears and tears on us. So it occurred to me from going on and on about how I wanted life to begin, but life has begun already, thus the proper statement should be the next chapter of life because after all, life is a story book God will one day tell us again. Now my shock was not only the fact that I have 18 months to get my act together and quit arguing “I don’t want to waste anymore time”, but the fact that it’s actually much easier to go with the flow than to schedule your day. However, I will happily continuing planing on what I want to do with my life, but I refuse to plan the day out any longer. Better yet I’m doing what people have tried to get me to do in the past and that is living day by day. To tell you the truth the only reason I used to be so reluctant to living day by day is because I felt like there was no action and not enough to look forward to, mind you I was living basically in the future so maybe that’s why, but let’s just not go there because I’m done and through with that hopefully. This week was even a bigger help to motivate me to get me to get school done, and those of you who know me I’m usually a sayer more than a doer, but I’ve made a remarkable break through you could say because I decided to prioritize. I thought to label things either important or distraction, then wrote up a whole bunch of quotes to inspire and encourage me, however I came across one yesterday that just grabbed my attention and gave me that slap upside the head. It read, “ask yourself if what you’re doing today is getting you closer to where you want to be tomorrow.”
–Unknown
Imagine how hard that one hit me real quick. Think of everything I’ve told you in person and just now everything I admitted to you. Eight words; “it felt like a punch in the brain.” Basically it was thought and direction changing for me. Then this morning God made sure I’d stick to the plan and made sure I’d take the steps to change my ways. My one devotion Jesus Calling by Sarah Young read this to speak on God’s behalf, “TRUST ME ENOUGH to spend ample time with Me, pushing back the demands of the day. Refuse to feel guilty about something that is so pleasing to Me, the King of the universe. Because I am omnipotent, I am able to bend time and events in your favor. You will find you can accomplish more in less time, after you have given yourself to Me in rich communication. Also, as you align yourself with My perspective, you can sort out what is important and what is not. Don’t fall into the trap of being constantly on the go. Many, many things people do in My Name have no value in My kingdom. To avoid meaningless works, stay in continual communication with Me. ‘I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with My eye upon you.”
Truthfully I can tell you it’s exciting knowing God is growing me. Actually it’s really an answer to my prayer for God teaching me to trust in Him. I’m excited to see what happens now as I’m getting on with life with a new perspective.
If any of you are reading this thinking, “wow Melody, you’re so inspiring!” Well to tell you the truth I’m inspired by Christ because He inspires me.

Leave a Reply

