In Hope and Dismay

This week we celebrate Easter. Easter is a time where we invite others to church, have a sunrise service, have potluck and to remember how Christ died on a tree for our sins.

However, this Easter week to me has been a huge eye opener, but more than just the depth of what happened between Good Friday and Easter over 2000 years ago. It’s much bigger than that; much bigger than I ever thought or imagined.

This Easter I see suffering; no, it may not be as much as when Christ was whipped, hung, bleeding, dying the most painful death to plummet my sins into hell, but to also have God turn His face away as He died just so I would not face eternal damnation, death, and separation.

Christ humbly suffered so I didn’t have to and He healed my wounds of sin. But I wonder about the suffering that is my life? What about the trial, hunger, pain, and burden I feel when I find out a friend of mine that is like a sibling to me has cancer?

Louie Gigleo puts it this way, “Be still my soul there’s a healer. Yes, yes, to be honest He didn’t heal yesterday, and He hasn’t healed today… and He might not heal tomorrow, but there is a God and He is a healer and I believe in Him.” Louie continues, but isn’t that just a picture of God sovereignty?

Biblically Romans 8:16-18 really hits it home when I talk about suffering, think about suffering, or am actually suffering.

“The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him. For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.”

There are three things that are encouraging as Paul talks about suffering here.

One: The Spirit bears witness. Meaning the Spirit is with us and weeps with us. Also keep in mind that when we pray the Spirit intercedes for us. (Romans 8:25–30)

•Two: We are children of God and have been made like Him. When we suffer we are like Christ. (James 1:2–4 and 1 Peter 2:21)

•Three: The suffering now is not to be compared with the glory that awaits us. Just as Revelation says, “He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

I know that as heart wrenching pain is I’ve had to remember that Christ is greater than I am, greater than my challenges, my failures, my fears, my doubts, my circumstances, my choices, my friends, my past, my future, and greater than everything.

In Christ Alone

Leave a Reply

